Charged With Lewdness
The Law Offices of Leon Matchin, LLC has been providing criminal defense services throughout Central New Jersey for more than ten years. Under New Jersey Statute N.J.S.A. 2C:14-4, lewdness is a disorderly persons offense and carries life altering penalties. Lewdness is defined as any flagrantly vulgar and/or offensive act which a person knows or reasonably expects is likely to be observed by other non-consenting person(s) who would be affronted and alarmed.
Penalties for Public Lewdness
Standard penalties for a disorderly persons charge include fines and incarceration; penalties for lewdness specifically include:
- Fines up to $100
- Victims of Crime Compensation Board Assessment $50
- Safe Neighborhood Assessment $75
- Court costs $33
- Jail term up to six months.
- Loss of driving privileges (if a motor vehicle was used in the act)
Note however, that if your lewd act was observed by a child under the age of 13 or an individual suffering from a mental disability or deficiency that prevents him from understanding the nature of your conduct, you could be convicted of a fourth degree crime; resulting in fines up to $10,000 and a jail term of up to eighteen months.
If you have been charged with lewdness, The Law Offices of Leon Matchin, LLC may be able to reduce or have the charges against you dismissed and eventually expunged. If a dismissal is not attainable then the next best possible outcome would be a plea to the municipal ordinance, which will prevent the accused from sustaining a criminal record and the stigma associated with it. If possible, the defendant should seek therapy before sentencing as it would serve as a powerful mitigating factor before the Judge at sentencing.
For a Free Consultation Call Today
Call The Law Offices of Leon Matchin, LLC today at (732) 662-7658 for a free consultation. Let our years of successful criminal defense in New Jersey serve to protect your rights and freedoms. After our firm thoroughly reviews your case we will work towards the best possible outcome in your unique situation.
*Provided defendant has not been convicted of more than three disorderly or petty disorderly persons offenses, or defendant has not been convicted of an indictable offense, he or she may have their conviction expunged five years after sentence is carried out (see Expungement).