Minor in Possession of Alcohol
The Law Offices of Leon Matchin, LLC routinely represents those charged with criminal complaints in the Central New Jersey municipal courts. Under New Jersey statute N.J.S.A. 2C:33-15 it is illegal for a minor to possess or consume alcohol. Any person not of legal drinking age (21 years old) who is caught purchasing alcohol or is in possession of alcohol in a public place can be charged with the disorderly person’s offense of Under Age Alcohol Possession.
Minor in Possession Penalites
The penalties associated with this disorderly persons offense include:
- Minimum $500 fine
- Incarceration up to 6 months
- Criminal record (requiring expungement)
- Driver’s license suspension (if a motor vehicle was involved)
In addition to the penalties outlined above the courts may also insist on an alcohol education or treatment program.
Minor in Possession Convicted
In order for the prosecutors to get a conviction they must be able to provide evidence; through witnesses and police testimony, that you were in fact in possession of the alcohol or consuming the alcohol. With the help of an experienced criminal defense attorney you may be able to disprove the allegations and have your case dismissed or the charges downgraded.
A conviction of under age alcohol possession will blemish your record, making it difficult to obtain a job, pass security clearance or miss out on educational opportunities as the charge will appear on a background check. Fighting criminal charges requires skilled advocacy in all stages of a proceeding, from handling law enforcement and preparing for grand juries to holding prosecutors to their burden of proof. Call the Law Offices of Leon Matchin, LLC today at (732) 662-7658 for a free consultation and save your future.