Criminal Mischief

The Consequences of a Drug Possession in New Jersey

There are mandatory minimum penalties that are strictly enforced in New Jersey when it comes to the drug laws.

Drug possession weighing 50 grams or less subjects one to anywhere between 6 months and two years loss of license, not to mention a criminal record and up to 6 month incarceration with a $1,000 fine; if caught possessing more than 50 grams, the fine will cost $25,000 with a jail term of 18 months.  Charges of possession with intent to distribute drastically increase the sentence time—if you are in possession of 1 ounce up to 5 pounds, the sentence is between 3 to 5 years with a fine of $25,000.  And if caught in possession within 1,000 feet of a school bus or school property, you become ineligible for parole for a portion of the sentence and the monetary cost jumps up to a hard $150,000.  Distribution to a pregnant woman or a minor doubles the penalty.

If you have been charged or convicted of a drug offense, call criminal defense attorney Leon Matchin at (833) 732-7320.  Do not leave your future to chance when faced with serious legal challenges posed by drug offenses, have an expert on your side.

Let’s connect!

Fill out the form on the right and get in touch with us.

Free Consultation

Free Consultation

Checkboxes