Thinking about driving with a suspended license? Think again. The consequences of driving with a license that has been suspended or revoked can be severe. Driving is a privilege awarded by the state. As such, state lawmakers are cracking down on those who operate outside the laws of the road. Driving without a license is a serious offense. As a result, a suspended license attorney should be consulted when you have questions about the process.
How do you lose your driver’s license?
The state of New Jersey operates on a point-based licensing system. Committing traffic offenses accumulates a certain number of points. This means that when your license has 12 or more points, the state may revoke or suspend your license.
New Jersey has over 6 million drivers and had over 320,000 accidents reported in 2018. In an effort to cut back on these accidents, the state has strict punishments for any driver driving recklessly or under the influence. Drug convictions can lead to six months to two years without a license. Reckless driving may also result in losing your license. While these are just examples, don’t consider them the definitive reasons for losing a license. In these cases, seeking the counsel of a suspended license attorney is advisable.
What are the consequences of driving with a suspended license?
Once you lose your license, you should not drive without it and risk further consequences. You could face fines, or worse, jail time. The first time you are caught, you may be fined $500. The second time, the fine becomes $750 and you will face one to five days behind bars. In
Other potential c
Accidents that occur while driving with a suspended license result in harsher sentences. If the accident injures someone, the unlicensed driver could face 45 days of jail time. In addition, insurance violations can result in a period of up to 90 days in jail. Intoxicated drivers face 10 to 90 days in jail.
However, these penalties are only the beginning. They may be much more severe if there are previous convictions. Criminal charges may result. Driving while suspended twice (or even once if it’s a second DUI) means the driver can be incarcerated for a period of no less than 180 days. You may also lose your license for a longer period of time.
Can I reinstate my license?
In short: yes. After you complete your sentence and the suspension is lifted, it is possible to reinstate your license. Also, there are several fees and requirements you must meet prior to reinstatement.
Should you find yourself facing conviction for driving with a suspended license, hire a suspended license attorney. Leon Matchin is an experienced attorney. Call 732-887-2479 or email him at [email protected] to schedule your consultation. You don’t have to face the court system alone – work with Leon Matchin and get the best results possible.