Photo by ROOKIE23 on Pixabay https://pixabay.com/en/police-arrest-detention-handcuffs-2122376/

The state of New Jersey takes driving under the influence very seriously. Driving drunk in New Jersey has very harsh penalties. If you’re caught driving under the influence or with a BAC (Blood Alcohol Concentration) of 0.08% or higher, you will receive a DUI charge. Read on to learn more about New Jersey’s drunk driving laws and why you should hire a New Jersey DWI attorney if you receive a DWI or DUI.

 

New Jersey DUI and DWI Basics

For anyone under the legal age of 21, the legal limit is 0.01%. The limit for CDL drivers is 0.04%. Laws in New Jersey dealing with a DUI or DWI are very complex and may require assistance from a New Jersey DWI attorney. There are also surcharges, points and other penalties given by the Motor Vehicle Commission.

It’s also important to know about New Jersey’s implied consent law. This law requires you to take a breath test. If you refuse the test or are detained, a blood sample may be taken. You will be subject to penalties that come from the results of the blood test. If you refuse a chemical test, you will lose your license for seven to twelve months and may have to pay a fine of $300 to $500.

 

New Jersey DUI and DWI Penalties

First offense: BAC of 0.08% or higher

  • License suspended for three months
  • Maximum imprisonment of thirty days
  • Fine of $250 to $400
  • Intoxicated Driver Resource Center (IDRC) education 12 to 48 hours
  • IDRC fee of $230
  • Alcohol Education and Rehabilitation Fund fee of $100
  • Drunk Driving Fund fee of $100
  • Neighborhood Service Fund fee of $75
  • Surcharges of $1,000 per year for three years

First offense: BAC of 0.10% or higher

  • License suspended for seven to twelve months
  • Maximum imprisonment of thirty days
  • Fine of $300 to $500
  • IDRC 12 to 48 hours
  • IDRC fee of $250
  • Alcohol Education and Rehabilitation Fund fee of $100
  • Drunk Driving Fund fee of $100
  • Neighborhood Service Fund fee of $75
  • Surcharges of $1,000 per year for three years
  • Ignition Interlock Device (IID) for six months to one year after license is restored if BAC was 0.15% or higher

First offense: Under 21 years old

If you are under the legal age of 21 and drive with a BAC higher than 0.01 %, you may face all the fines listed above in addition to the following:

  • License suspended for 30 to 90 days
  • Community service for 15 to 30 days
  • Mandatory Alcohol and Highway Safety Education with the IDRC

If you do not have a license and receive a DUI or DWI, your license processing may take an additional 30 to 90 days. Additionally, second offenses carry longer imprisonment time and higher fees.

Why Do You Need a New Jersey DWI Attorney?

DUI and DWI attorneys work hard to minimize your penalties and save you money. Since plea bargains for DUI and DWI cases are illegal in New Jersey, the only way to have charges reduced or dismissed is if they are legally unable to prove that you were driving under the influence. This requires a New Jersey DWI attorney.

Experienced New Jersey DWI attorneys understand the legal and scientific procedures for collecting evidence and using it against a defendant accused of driving under the influence. Additionally, they know how to use specific errors and deviations to have charges reduced or dismissed. Errors can occur in several areas including field sobriety tests, breathalyzers, and blood tests.

New Jersey carries harsh drunk driving penalties. Penalties include high fines, license suspension, and jail time. If you have been charged with a DUI or DWI and are looking to hire a New Jersey DWI attorney, Attorney Leon Matchin can help. Contact us at 732-887-2479, or email us at [email protected].