So you’ve got your license and a new (or new to you) car, and you’re ready to drive. Before getting on the road, though, you’ll need to purchase car insurance. New Jersey has its own requirements when it comes to coverage and limits. It’s a good idea to do some research before choosing a policy. The right sales representative may be able to answer questions.

Why You Shouldn’t Drive Without Insurance

In New Jersey, driving without insurance can lead to fines, surcharges, and even a one-year suspension of your license. You will also have to face court fees and reinstatement fees to get your license back. And if you already have a DUI, the punishments could be more severe.

If you’re not sure where to start when buying coverage, follow these steps.

Research Insurance Carriers

A quick Google search can show you the different auto insurance carriers available to you. Read reviews, talk to a sales representative, and get a quote for your policy. A third-party brokerage firm selling car insurance can also help you narrow down your search.

Compare Rates

Once you’ve done your research, compare the rates and coverages for each of your quotes. Remember to look not only at the monthly premium but also the value of the coverage. In addition, compare your yearly bill with the maximum out-of-pocket payment you would have in an accident. The cheaper your rate, the less insurance will pay for any injuries or vehicle damage.

Purchase the Minimum Coverage Required by Your State

Car insurance in New Jersey must cover liability. At a minimum, you should have $15,000 for injury or death of a person, $30,000 for injury or death of more than one person, and $5,000 for property damage. Carriers will offer coverage at other levels and may even bundle services. But make sure you are meeting the minimum requirements, no matter the deal you get.

Purchasing car insurance in New Jersey can be intimidating. You want to follow all the rules while driving your car. However, if you find yourself without insurance for whatever reason and are facing charges, call the Law Offices of Leon Matchin, LLC. Leon Matchin has represented car insurance related cases in New Jersey for more than 10 years. He will guide you and plead your case. If your insurance lapsed due to non-payment or a policy termination not communicated to you, call Leon Matchin at 732-662-7658 or email him at [email protected]