Leaving the Scene of an Accident in New Jersey
The Law Offices of Leon Matchin, LLC has been representing those accused of traffic violations for more than ten years. A violation of Leaving the Scene of an Accident (N.J.S.A. 39:4-129) is a serious offense in the State of New Jersey and can be deemed as a traffic or criminal offense. A charge of Leaving the Scene of an Accident is defined as an accident with damage to a vehicle or property (totaling $250 in damage). Whether accused of a traffic or criminal violation of Leaving the Scene the penalties will be based upon the damage; property related damage or personal injury.
Leaving the Scene of an Accident First Offense
In a case of Leaving the Scene of an Accident where there was only Property Damage, first time offenders will be subjected to:
- a fine of $202-$402
- up to 30 days in jail
- assessed two points by the MVC
- Mandatory 6 month loss of drivers license (minimum)
If you have been involved in an accident resulting in Personal Injury and have been charged with Leaving the Scene the penalties you face are more severe than those with only damage to property. A first time offense of leaving the scene of an accident that involves personal injury can subject the offender to:
- $502-$1,002 fine
- a 180-day jail sentence
Fines are doubled when the offense occurs in either a construction zone or a 65 mph speed zone. In addition, your driver’s license will be suspended for one year and eight (8) MVC and eight (8) insurance points will be incurred.
Contact Defense Attorney Leon Matchin Today
The Law Offices of Leon Matchin has handled many cases throughout Northern New Jersey with favorable results. If retained, The Law Offices of Leon Matchin, LLC will seek a dismissal or a downgrade of the charges you are facing; time is of the essence. Call our firm today at (732) 887-2479 for a free consultation and to discuss the options available to you.