Disorderly Persons Offense New Jersey
The Law Offices of Leon Matchin, LLC represent clients charged with petty disorderly persons offense, disorderly persons offense, fourth degree crimes, third degree crimes, second degree crimes and first degree crimes.
Common Criminal Charges in New Jersey
The following are the most common criminal charges that a New Jersey criminal defense lawyer helps clients defend in New Jersey Criminal County Courts including Middlesex County, Monmouth County, Mercer County, Somerset County, Essex County, Union County, and Hudson County:
- Terroristic threats
- Sexual assault
- Possession of controlled substances (CDS)
What is Disorderly Persons Offense
Disorderly persons and petty disorderly persons offenses are not crimes. Hence, one is not entitled to indictment by grand jury or a jury trial, although one could receive a six month jail sentence and $1,000.00 for a disorderly persons offense and a thirty day jail sentence and $500.00 fine for a petty disorderly persons conviction. Certain consequence may result from disorderly persons convictions such as loss of license – especially from a controlled dangerous substance offense – loss of public office and loss of presumption against incarceration for a second, third or subsequent offense.
First, second, third and fourth degree offenses are crimes that give rise to disabilities and legal disadvantages after a conviction. These disabilities and legal disadvantages include loss of voting rights and loss of right to serve as a juror.
First degree offenses include the most serious offenses and carry the greatest maximum sentences and fines. Generally, a first degree conviction carries a maximum term of imprisonment of twenty years and a maximum fine of $200,000.00. A second degree conviction carries a maximum term of imprisonment of ten years and a maximum fine of $150,000.00. A third degree conviction maximum term of imprisonment is five years and a fine of $15,000.00. Finally, the maximum term of imprisonment for a conviction of a fourth degree offense is eighteen months and a maximum fine of $10,000.00.
A common question posed to a New Jersey criminal defense lawyer is whether or not New Jersey has felonies and misdemeanors. New Jersey follows a different system of indictable – what may be considered felonies in other states – and non-indictable – what may be considered misdemeanors in other states. First, second, third and fourth degree offenses are indictable while disorderly persons, petty disorderly persons and municipal ordinances are non-indictable.
For further explanation of disorderly persons offenses please visit my comprehensive legal guide.