Did you know that leaving the scene of an accident in New Jersey can either be classified as a traffic or criminal offense? The charge depends on the damage and whether it was property damage or personal injury. If you have left the scene of an accident and are facing charges, you need to call a New Jersey attorney such as Leon Matchin as soon as possible. An attorney will work to help get the charges dismissed or downgraded. Here are a few penalties you might face if you have been charged with leaving the scene of an accident.
Leaving the Scene When There is Property Damage
There are a variety of penalties associated with leaving the scene of an accident when there is property damage. This could occur when someone hits and damages a car and then leaves the scene. Penalties include a fine, jail time, points, and a driver’s license suspension. In addition, the fine can be anywhere between $202 and $402. Jail time is up to 30 days, and you will receive two points from the MVC. In addition, there is a mandatory six-month loss of driver’s license. Keep in mind that the six months is a minimum, and it could be even more time.
Leaving the Scene When There is a Personal Injury
Leaving the scene of an accident when there has been a personal injury is much more serious. This occurs if someone is hurt in the accident and you leave. As a result, the penalties for this charge are more severe. The driver leaving the scene will face a $502 to $1,002 fine and a 180-day jail sentence. These fines double when the incident occurs in a construction zone or an area with a 65 MPH speed limit. If a personal injury has also occurred, your driver’s license will be suspended for a year, and 8 MCV and 8 insurance points will be added to your record.
Contacting A New Jersey Attorney
Getting into an accident can be scary. Whether there is property damage or personal injury, drivers are always expected to stop at the scene of an accident. In New Jersey, there are also many consequences associated with leaving the scene of an accident. The consequences include fines, jail time, MVC and insurance points, and suspension of driver’s license. If you are charged with leaving the scene of an accident, call a New Jersey attorney such as Leon Matchin for help. Leon has a lot of experience defending clients with this type of charge. As a result, he can help get the charge dismissed or downgraded. Call Leon Matchin at 732-887-2479 or contact him via email at [email protected] for more information about leaving the scene of an accident.