New Jersey traffic law sets specific speed limits for different zones. For example, the speed limit is 25 mph in school zones, but 65 mph and over on interstate highways. As a driver, it’s essential to know the speed limit of the roads you are driving on. Having a general idea of the zone you are in and how fast you can go will help prevent you from getting a ticket. Speeding tickets come with consequences, including fines and points on your license. If you get enough points from speeding, your license could ultimately be suspended. After getting a speeding ticket, the first step is to contact a New Jersey attorney like Leon Matchin to learn more information. Depending on the situation, you may or may not have to appear in court. Leon will analyze your situation and work to have the ticket dropped or at least downgraded so that you are facing fewer points.
Speed Limits in New Jersey
Have you ever been out driving, wondered what the speed limit was, but couldn’t find a sign? This is a common occurrence and can often lead to unintentional speeding. One solution is to have a general idea of the various New Jersey speed limits based on what zone you are driving in. That way, if you find yourself searching for a speed limit sign, you can already be pretty sure you know how fast you can go. Here are the various speed limits in New Jersey:
- School zone: 25 mph
- Business district: 25 mph
- Residential district: 25 mph
- Certain lower-density residential or business districts: 35 mph
- All other roadways: 50 mph
- State highways: 55 mph
- Interstate highways: 65+ mph
Anytime you are in an area with a lot of pedestrians or kids (ex: school, neighborhood, etc.), the speed limit will always be lower. If you still find yourself wondering about a speed limit in a given area, your best bet is to err on the side of caution and slow down.
Fines & Points
Speeding tickets come with fines. Typically, fines are between $50 and $200. If you were caught driving 20 mph or more over the speed limit or 10 mph more in a 65+ mph zone, your fines would double. Very rarely will a driver who is speeding face jail time, but it does happen on occasion. The other consequence of speeding is points tacked onto your driving record. These points usually cause your insurance premiums to increase, and if you receive 12 points within 12 months, your license will be automatically suspended. New Jersey law section 34:4-98 discusses speeding charges and the associated points:
- Driving 1-14 mph over the speed limit: 2 points
- Also, driving 15-29 mph over the speed limit: 4 points
- In addition, driving 30 mph or more over the speed limit: 5 points
Depending on the situation, you might be facing additional points. For example, if you were speeding but also racing someone on the highway, you will get an extra 5 points. If you were speeding and failed to stop at a traffic light, you will get an additional 2 points. As you can see, these numbers add up! To avoid the potential loss of license, it’s critical that you hire an attorney to fight your speeding charges in court.
What Happens if You Live Out of State?
Speeding charges get sticky when the driver lives out of state. The New Jersey Motor Vehicle Commission will let the driving commission in your state know about the charges. You may receive a notice that you need to come back to New Jersey to appear in court. Failure to pay your ticket or show up in court can lead to arrest. As an out-of-state driver, it is possible for your attorney to appear in court on your behalf. Discuss options with your attorney.
Other Potential Charges for New Jersey Traffic Law
Often a speeding ticket comes with other charges. These charges include things like reckless driving or careless driving. The charges can come with additional consequences, like more driving record points, license suspension, higher fines, and possible jail time. An attorney can help potentially have these additional charges dismissed or at least downgraded.
How a New Jersey Traffic Law Attorney Can Help
There are many ways an attorney can help you in court. Many times they can successfully get your speeding ticket completely dropped or at least downgraded so that you are facing fewer points and additional charges. There are many defenses that your lawyer can use in court, depending on the situation. One common defense is claiming that the police officer’s radar gun was not calibrated and it misjudged your speed. Another, less common defense is speeding due to an emergency. Situations like a family member going into labor or a friend needing to go to the ER work, but situations like being late to work do not. The key is to thoroughly discuss the situation with your attorney, who will analyze the facts and evidence to create your defense.
Speeding is one of the most common traffic violations in the state of New Jersey. In fact, most drivers have received at least one speeding ticket over the course of their driving years. However, it is a charge that shouldn’t be taken lightly as it comes with fines and points on your driving record. If you have too many points, you will be facing an automatic license suspension. If you or a loved one have received a speeding ticket, don’t wait another minute. Contact an attorney as soon as possible. An attorney will help you understand New Jersey traffic law and how you can fight your speeding charges. Contact Leon Matchin by phone at 732-887-2479, or email him at [email protected]. He will set up a free, no-obligation consultation to review your case and go over your options.