Getting a traffic ticket can be frustrating. Understanding exactly what charges you’re facing can help you navigate the process with ease. A N.J. traffic ticket attorney can help you sort through the ticket and identify ways to lessen the penalties or even dismiss the charges altogether. A traffic ticket can have costly consequences, and they don’t always stick in court. By working with an attorney, you can determine the best course of action when facing a N.J. traffic ticket.
Common N.J. Traffic Violations
Understanding the specifics of the charge you face can help your N.J. traffic ticket attorney build your defense. For most, violation of a traffic law isn’t intentional, and the specifics behind each cause can help you lessen your penalties. In some cases, charges can even be dismissed with a good enough defense. Your attorney will help you determine how best to defend your case when facing one of these common N.J. traffic violations.
Driving Without Insurance
According to New Jersey Statute N.J.S.A 39:6 B-2, owners and operators of registered vehicles must possess a minimum amount of liability insurance. These minimums include:
- $15,000 for injury or death of one person
- $30,000 for injury or death of multiple persons
- $5,000 for property damage
While many drivers choose to get additional insurance to cover accidents, drivers who fail to meet the minimum requirements can receive a traffic ticket. Penalties for driving without insurance include:
- A minimum of $300 in fines
- Community service
- M.V.C. surcharges
- Up to one year driver’s license suspension
These penalties can severely hamper your everyday life and financial situation. By working with a N.J. traffic ticket attorney, you can build a defense against these charges. Issues with insurance companies and delayed payments can lead to minor time pockets of uninsured driving that can often be dismissed with the reinstatement of an insurance policy.
Driving Without a Driver’s License
According to New Jersey Statute N.J.S.A. 39:3-40, drivers must have a valid driver’s license to operate a motor vehicle. If you do not have a driver’s license, or your license is in a period of suspension, you can face severe penalties from a traffic ticket, including:
- Fines up to $500 and additional court costs
- Additional license suspension of up to six months
- M.V.C. surcharges
The penalties you face increase with each subsequent charge of driving without a license. With your third conviction, you face a mandatory incarceration of 10 days. Fighting a charge for driving without a license is key to avoiding hefty financial penalties and jail time.
A N.J. traffic ticket attorney can help defend you against unlicensed driving charges. A variety of factors go into determining whether or not a conviction sticks. Defenses for driving without a license can be built around emergency situations or ignorance of driver’s license status.
Speed limits and their associated rules are governed by New Jersey Statute N.J.S.A 39:4-98. If you are caught speeding in New Jersey, you’ll need an experienced traffic ticket attorney to help you understand and fight the associated penalties. Consequences for speeding are determined by the speed over the limit you were going and include fines up to $260 with the addition of four or five points added to your license.
Speeding tickets are the most common source of license points for drivers in New Jersey. If you accumulate more than 12 points in a 12-month period, you can have your license suspended. With an attorney on your side, you can defend your case and lower the penalties associated with speeding tickets. In most cases, a plea bargain and attendance at a safe driving course can dismiss the penalties a driver would receive.
Most states have a law against operating a cell phone or other touch device while driving. New Jersey Statute N.J.S.A. 39:4-97.3 states that drivers may not operate a vehicle and use a cell phone unless the device is hands-free. Penalties for driving while using a cell phone depend on whether or not this is your first associated ticket.
First offenses for using a cell phone include fines between $200 and $400. Second offenses increase those fines up to $600. Any subsequent offense will include a fine of up to $800, a license suspension of up to 90 days, and three points added to your driver’s license.
While using your cell phone while driving is almost never permitted, there are some defenses your N.J. traffic ticket attorney can help you build. As with most traffic violations, emergency situations can help dismiss or reduce a charge. Using a non-hands-free device to respond to an emergency or report hazardous road conditions can become necessary. In these instances, you can fight your traffic ticket and avoid the hefty penalties.
How a N.J. Traffic Ticket Attorney Can Help
If you face any of the above common traffic violations, a N.J. traffic ticket attorney can help. Even if the charges seem simple at first, working with an attorney can greatly benefit your cause. Your attorney will know how the court systems work and can even help you navigate M.V.C. proceedings as well. Building a strong defense against traffic tickets can reduce your charges or even dismiss them altogether.
If you need help with a traffic ticket in New Jersey, contact Attorney Leon Matchin today. With over ten years of experience defending drivers in New Jersey, Attorney Matchin continues to fight tirelessly to help his clients. A qualified N.J. traffic ticket attorney can help you reduce the financial and emotional strain a traffic violation charge causes. Call Attorney Leon Matchin today at 732-887-2479, or email him at [email protected] to get help with your N.J. traffic ticket.