A driver’s license can be suspended for a variety of reasons. New Jersey Law (N.J.S.A. 39:3-40) says: “no person whose driver’s license has been suspended or refused shall personally operate a motor vehicle during the period of suspension.” Driving with a suspended license has various consequences, including fines and jail time. If you or a loved one has been convicted of driving with a suspended license, contact a local New Jersey attorney, such as Leon Matchin, to help. Read on to learn more about a charge of driving with a suspended license.
What Leads To A Suspended License?
There are a few reasons for a suspended license. Some reckless driving cases also lead to suspension. Failure to provide proof of insurance is another reason for license suspension. In addition, accumulating 12 points or more on your driver record can lead to suspension. Finally, driving under the influence of drugs or alcohol can cause license suspension.
What is the Penalty For A Suspended License?
The penalty depends on whether it is the first, second, or third offense. As a result, if it is a first offense, the driver will pay a fine up to $502, the license will be suspended for another one day to six months, and an MVC surcharge of $250 per year for three years will be charged. However, if the incident is a second offense, the driver could face a fine of up to $752, get their license suspended for another six months, face an MVC surcharge of $250 per year for three years, and incarceration from one to five days.
In addition, the most serious of the charges comes with the third offense. The driver is fined up to $1,002, the license is suspended for an additional six months, an MVC surcharge of $250 per year for three years will be faced, and mandatory incarceration of ten days.
How Can a New Jersey Attorney Help?
A New Jersey attorney can help those convicted of driving with a suspended license get the charges downgraded or dropped. An attorney like Leon Matchin will carefully study the details of the situation to figure out evidence that can be used in favor of his client. For example, maybe someone had a medical emergency, and the driver needed to use the car to get to the hospital. Or maybe the driver did not even realize their license was suspended. When you see an attorney, be sure to be honest and transparent about all the details of your case.
Contact Leon Matchin For Help With Your Suspended License Charges
Driving with a suspended license is illegal and also comes with different levels of penalties based on how many offenses there have been. Leon Matchin has a lot of experience defending clients with suspended licenses. Call him at 732-887-2479 or contact him via email at [email protected] for more information about the services he can provide.