In order to drive a car, you need to have auto insurance in New Jersey. There are minimum essential coverages you must have. Without them, you will be fined and face other consequences. Because of this, before you drive without insurance, take a look at the law and the possible consequences you could face if you are caught.
Minimum Insurance Coverage
If you are the owner and operator of a motor vehicle, you must possess a minimum amount of liability insurance. For the injury or death of a person, the minimum amount is $15,000. In addition, for the injury or death of more than one person, the minimum amount is $30,000. Along with this, you must have at least $5,000 in property damage coverage as well. It’s possible to have more coverage insured, but when purchasing you must have at least these amounts. Most insurance companies will advise you of the bare minimum you can take out as this will be the cheapest option for you.
Penalties for Driving Without Insurance
If you choose to drive uninsured, you will face certain consequences. You can be fined from $300 to $1,000. Also, you may be sentenced to community service. The DMV may surcharge you $250 for three years. In addition, your license can be suspended for up to 1 year. However, these are just the beginning. If you decide to take the charge to court, there will be court fees, hiring a lawyer, and taking the time to try and get your decision appealed. Because of this, the loss of time and money is much more than you would pay if you just got the insurance.
In Order to Prosecute
If you’re charged with driving without insurance, the State must prove there is a case to be tried. As a result, a lawyer can try to get your charges dropped. The State needs to prove that you knew (or should have known) that the vehicle was uninsured. Also, they must prove that the vehicle was principally garaged in the state of New Jersey. If you don’t have auto insurance in New Jersey, hire a lawyer that might be able to get the charges dropped or lowered with the help of these must-haves. If those don’t work, there may be something else they can do.
Driving Without Auto Insurance In New Jersey
You must have car insurance in New Jersey if you want to drive. However, attorney Leon Matchin knows that there are certain circumstances that might lead you to drive without the insurance. If this is you, let him help you with the charges. Call Leon at 732-887-2479, or email him at [email protected].